A DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) charge in the United States can be a costly affair. The “typical” DWI fine is $5,000 and that is just the beginning of what you might end up paying. You will also have to pay court costs, as well as fines for any other charges such as reckless driving or speeding. In Texas, for example, your first-time DWI conviction could cost you up to $2,000 in fines alone. This is not including all the other expenses that are associated with a DWI conviction. The best solution you can have is contacting Kansas City DWI Lawyers in your area to receive consultation.
How much does it cost to get a DUI in the United States?
How much does it cost to get a DUI in the United States? The average cost of a DUI conviction varies from state-to-state and can be anywhere from $1500 to $10,000. The exact price depends on the severity of the incident and whether you’re pleading guilty or not guilty. In general, expect to pay between $2000 and $5000 for your first offense.
What is a DWI?
DWI stands for Driving While Intoxicated. DWI is a serious offense in all 50 states and the District of Columbia. In Texas, a first time DWI offender faces a minimum $2,000 fine, up to one year in jail or both. The judge may also require the individual to complete an alcohol education program and community service hours. In addition, drivers will be required to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle which will require them to pass a breathalyzer test before they can start their car. In New Jersey, residents face fines from $300-$500 and suspension of license for 90 days for their first offense and fines from $500-$1,000 and suspension of license for 120 days.
Why are DWI fines so high in the US?
DWI fines in the United States are so high due to the strict laws and consequences for driving under the influence. According to research, one in three drivers will be involved in a drunk driving crash at some point in their life. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) estimates that drunk driving costs $37 billion per year. In Texas, DWI fines range from $2,000 to $4,000 depending on whether you have previous offenses or not. New York has a $500 minimum for first-time offenders with an increase of up to $1,000 for subsequent convictions. Minnesota’s fine is also dependent on prior offenses but ranges from $500-$1,000.
How much does it cost to get a DWI in the United States?
In the United States, a DWI can cost anywhere from $2,000 to $10,000. This includes court fees and fines as well as other expenses such as attorney’s fees, ignition interlock device costs, car insurance increases and the loss of license. The penalties for a first time offender can be up to six months in jail or prison and up to a $1,000 fine. The more severe penalties are reserved for repeat offenders who have been previously convicted twice or more times of DWI offenses. These individuals may face up to two years in jail or prison and a $4,000 ($8,000 if impaired by drugs) fine plus any additional prison sentences imposed by the judge.